Meet the people in Arctic Studies:

Our Staff

Matthew P. Ayres

Professor of Biological Sciences; Associate Director, Institute of Arctic Studies

Melody Brown Burkins

Associate Director, The John Sloan Dickey Center for International Understanding; Adjunct Professor of Environmental Studies

Lauren E. Culler

Research Assistant Professor and Lecturer; Science Outreach Coordinator ; JSEP and JASE Co-PI

Natalie Stephenson

Arctic Program Coordinator

Ross A. Virginia

Director, Institute of Arctic Studies, Dickey Center; Myers Family Professor of Environmental Science

Our Affiliated Faculty

Mary Albert

Professor of Engineering; Executive Director, Ice Drilling Program Office

Ian Baker

Sherman Fairchild Professor of Engineering; Senior Associate Dean for Academic Affairs
Photograph of Kathy Cottingham by Eli Burakian, 19 November 2019

Kathryn L. Cottingham

Dartmouth Professor in the Arts & Sciences; Professor, Department of Biological Sciences
N. Bruce Duthu

N. Bruce Duthu

Samson Occom Professor of Native American Studies

Xiahong Feng

Frederick Hall Professor of Mineralogy and Geology; Professor of Earth Sciences
Mary Flanagan

Mary Flanagan

Chair of Film and Media Studies; Professor of Film and Media Studies

Andrew J. Friedland

Professor of Environmental Studies; Adjunct Professor of Biological Sciences and Earth Sciences

Brenda Garand

Professor of Studio Art

Robert L. Hawley

Associate Professor of Earth Sciences; Department Chair, Earth Sciences
Meredith A. Kelly

Meredith A. Kelly

Associate Professor of Earth Science

Mark Alan McPeek

David T. McLaughlin Distinguished Professor of Biological Sciences; Professor, Ecology, Evolution, Environment and Society Graduate Program
Erich Osterberg

Erich Osterberg

Associate Professor of Earth Sciences

Laura Ray

Professor of Engineering

Nicholas James Reo

Associate Professor; Associate Professor of Environmental Studies and Native American Studies

Christina Seely

Associate Professor of Studio Art

Justin V. Strauss

Assistant Professor of Earth Sciences

Our Fellows

Níels Einarsson

Senior Arctic Fellow; Director of the Stefansson Arctic Institute

Victoria Bikowski

Fulbright Research Scholar; Ph.D. Student, York University
Lenore Grenoble

Lenore Grenoble

Dickey Center Senior Arctic Fellow; John Matthews Manly Distinguished Service Professor, Department of Linguistics and Humanities Collegiate Division, the University of Chicago
Jeff Kerby

Jeffrey Kerby

Dickey Center Visiting Arctic Fellow; Neukom '16 Post-doctoral Fellow
Ilona Metiainen

Ilona Mettiäinen

Researcher, Arctic Centre, University of Lapland, Finland

Kenneth Yalowitz

Dickey Center Senior Arctic Fellow; Global Fellow, Kennan Institute, Wilson Center
The John Sloan Dickey Center