Scholars Announced for Inaugural Fulbright Arctic Initiative

US Department of State: Diplomacy in Action

Media Note
Office of the Spokesperson
Washington, DC
April 21, 2015

Seventeen researchers from Arctic Council nations, including the United States, Canada, Denmark, Finland, Iceland, Norway, Russia, and Sweden will engage in collaborative thinking, analysis, problem-solving and multi-disciplinary research over the next 18 months as a part of the U.S. Department of State’s Fulbright Arctic Initiative. The diverse group of scholars will explore public-policy research questions and offer innovative solutions through a variety of disciplines ranging from geology and biology to law, sociology, global health, and art. See more information on the scholars, including their names and affiliations, here.

The scholars’ research will focus broadly on the impact of climate change on the Arctic, particularly on the issues of water, energy, health, and infrastructure. Scholars will engage governments, NGOs, businesses, and Arctic communities through group seminars, online engagements, and collaborative research. Fulbright Arctic Initiative Co-Lead Scholars Dr. Michael Sfraga and Dr. Ross A. Virginia will guide the research teams in establishing guidelines and goals for their work.

The Fulbright Arctic Initiative supports the goal of stimulating international scientific collaboration on issues facing the Arctic while increasing mutual understanding between the people of the United States and the people of other countries. The Initiative will officially launch with an open meeting on May 17th in Iqaluit, Canada, right after the Chairmanship of the Arctic Council officially passes from Canada to the United States at the Arctic Council Ministerial Meeting on April 24th.

The Fulbright Program is the U.S. Government’s flagship international educational exchange program and is supported by the people of the United States and partner countries around the world. Since 1946, the Fulbright Program has provided more than 360,000 participants from more than 155 countries with the opportunity to study, teach and conduct research, exchange ideas and contribute to finding solutions to shared international concerns.

For press inquiries, please contact the Bureau of Educational and Cultural Affairs,, (202) 632-6452.

Read about the first official meeting of Arctic Scholars in Iqaluit, Nunavut, Canada, 

More news at UArctic.