Sixteen Scholars Announced For Second Fulbright Arctic Initiative

Fulbright Arctic Initiative Press Release  |  April 3, 2018

Sixteen outstanding scholars from Arctic Council nations will engage in collaborative, multi-disciplinary research over the next 18 months through the U.S. Department of State’s Fulbright Arctic Initiative to advance Arctic nations’ shared interest in building resilient communities and sustainable economies. Researchers will explore topics such as renewable energy, fisheries management, health and wellness, and telecommunications infrastructure in the Arctic. Sponsored by the State Department’s Bureau of Educational and Cultural Affairs, this initiative supports interdisciplinary research for scholars from Arctic Council member countries.

Dr. Michael Sfraga, Director of the Polar Initiative at the Woodrow Wilson Center, and Dr. Ross A. Virginia, Director of the Institute of Arctic Studies at Dartmouth College, will serve as distinguished scholar leaders of the initiative.

The Arctic Council is an intergovernmental forum that includes Canada, the Kingdom of Denmark, Finland, Iceland, Norway, Russia, Sweden, and the United States. The governments of Canada and Finland have provided additional funding for this second cohort of Fulbright Arctic Scholars. The diverse group of 16 scholar participants – including three from indigenous Arctic communities and 13 women – will explore public policy research questions and offer innovative solutions from a wide variety of disciplines. 

Read the full release

Read the biographies