The University of the Arctic (UArctic) is a cooperative network of universities, colleges, and other organizations committed to higher education and research in the North. Members share resources, facilities, and expertise to build post-secondary education programs that are relevant and accessible to northern students. Their overall goal is to create a strong, sustainable circumpolar region by empowering northerners and northern communities through education and shared knowledge.

UArctic Mission

UArctic promotes education that is circumpolar, interdisciplinary, and diverse in nature and draws on combined strengths to address the unique challenges of the region. The University of the Arctic recognizes the integral role of indigenous peoples in northern education and seeks to engage their perspectives in all of its activities.

Thematic Networks with Dartmouth Affiliation

Dartmouth Persons Affliated with UArctic

  • Matthew Ayres | Alternate UArctic Assembly Representative
  • Melody Brown Burkins | Primary UArctic Assembly Representative, Model Arctic Council (Thematic Network Vice-Lead), Science Diplomacy (Member), Thematic Networks Team (Member), Gender in the Arctic Knowledge Production (Member)
  • Lauren Culler | Arthropods of the Tundra / NeAT (Thematic Network Vice-Lead), Thematic Networks Team (Member), Conservation of Arctic Flora and Fauna (CAFF) (External Liaison)
  • Justin V. Strauss | Arctic Geology (Member)
  • Ross A. Virginia | Member of the UArctic Board of Governors, Institute for Arctic Policy (Institute Lead), Thematic Networks Team (Member)
  • Lindsay Whaley | Alternate UArctic Assembly Representative, Toyon (Assembly Executive Committee) (Member)